Presentations 2018

B4BA Welcome Apolline Kohen – Chair of the Broadband for the Bush Alliance

Brad Howarth – MC & Forum Ambassador

The Indigenous Focus Day 2018 – Reflections and Progress. Christine Ross – MD of Christine Ross Consultancy

Developing a new Universal Service Guarantee for Telecommunications. Phillip Mason Assistant Secretary, USO Taskforce Department of Communications and the Arts

Nbn: Improving the Consumer Experience Sylvia Spaseski – Assist. Sect. Consumer Broadband Services, Department of Communications and the Arts (DoCA)


Living on the edge Chair: Dot West Bridging the Gap


Chair: Brendan Fitzgerald

The value of effective Digital Technology on the Social, Emotional, Physical, Financial and Educational productivity in the Bush! Tiani Cook – State President – NT Isolated Children’s Parents’ Association & NT Rep CRT – National Rural Women’s Coalition


Free public Wi-Fi as a core library service in the NT. Anja Tait – Assistant Director Libraries and Learning NT Library Kerry Blinco – Assistant Director Digital Inclusion NT Library Liam Campbell -Community Partnerships Coordinator NT Library


Innovation: Possibilities on the edge. Angus Skoech – Senior Principal Research Fellow – Development and Innovation, Northern Institute


Digital skills training in your community. Jessica Perrin – Social Innovation & Digital Inclusion Manager at Infoxchange


Indigenous Culture in a Digital Society. Leonard Hill – Assistant Secretary, Culture Branch. Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet


‘The impact of strategic content partnerships on Hitnet Hub usage’. Julie Gibson – CEO & Co-founder at Hitnet


Introduce Session Agile Government Chair: Penny Griffin


Working Smarter Workshop Chair: Brendan Fitzgerald


How can communities secure better broadband? Facilitator – Jim Wyatt – Principal at Optimi Digital


All things bold and beautiful! An nbn progress update. Gavin Williams – Executive General Manager. Products, nbn co


2018 Regional Telecommunications Review. Sean Edwards – Chair

The Hon. Lauren Moss – Minister for Environment and Natural Resources, Minister for Tourism and Culture & Minister for Corporate Information Services.

Influencing to accelerate action on digital inclusion- why, what, and how? The Australian Digital Inclusion Alliance Plenary Panel facilitated by John Huigen – Alliance Facilitator

Sylvia Spaseski – Assist. Sect. Consumer Broadband Services DoCA

Dr Greg Ogle – Senior Policy and Research Analyst at South Australian Council of Social Services

Clare O’Reilly General Manager, Mobiles, Transmission and Consumer Branch ACCC


Big Ideas from the Bush – What constitutes a truly digital Australia where no individual or place is left behind? A panel discussion moderated by Cathy Van Extel from ABC.

Panellists  Daniel Featherstone – General Manager, Indigenous Remote Communication Association (IRCA)

Tiani Cook – State President – NT Isolated Children’s Parents’ Association

Jim Wyatt – Principal at Optimi Digital


The availability, quality and reliability of internet and telehealth services in Australia: Report on Current Status of the Broadband For the Bush survey. Marianne St Clair – Broadband for the Bush Alliance


Facebook Geraldine Lim – Director of Policy for Australia & New Zealand/ APAC Regional Coordinator, Facebook


Australian Competition & Consumer Commission Delia Rickard – Deputy Chair, ACCC


Broadband Impacts and Challenges for 2030: Reflections and projections for Connectivity, Affordability and Digital Inclusion in Australia Discussion Panel – Facilitated by Brad Howarth Gavin Williams – Executive General Manager, Products, nbn co

Teresa Corbin – CEO, ACCAN

Cecily Michaels – CEO Leep NGO


Bridging the Gap Chair: Brad Howarth Living on the edge Chair: Daniel Featherstone


Collaboration to expand access to better broadband: Marianne St Clair and Tim Saul, nbn local

Digital Health Apps- ARDS Warren Smith – Manager Inyerpocket Software


Broadband for the Bush – Telehealth Panel Chair, Cathy Robinson, Principal Research Scientist, CSIRO

David Murtagh, Research Fellow, Northern Institute, CDU

A/Prof Malcolm Johnston-Leek, Medical Director, St John Ambulance.

Dr Simon Quilty, General and Acute Care Physician, Katherine Hospital.

Jeff Cook, Clinic Manager, Laynhapuy Homelands Health Service (LHS)

John Kelly, GP and Physician, LHS

Improving business and staff connectivity for remote properties using an innovative SkyMuster solution. JoAnn Resing – Rural Digital technology innovator and agricultural capacity builder.


Long Range WiFi in practice: learnings and applications. Peter Padd – Co-Founder & CEO at Bitwoke


Linda Ford – Principal Research Fellow Bridging the Gap – in technology for very remote areas.


Chris Hosking, Deputy Chief Executive, Department of Corporate and Information Services. CCSRP.


Working Smarter Chair: Brad Howarth Agile Government Chair: Rob Starling

Innovating the North. Janet Kosic – Program manager – Darwin Innovation Hub Creating and enabling connected communities.

Penny Griffin, Principal Project Officer Regional Telecommunications, Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development (WA).

Graham Townley, Project Manager, Paupiyala Tjarutja Aboriginal Corporation


Innovating under the Southern Skies. Dan Gerich – Director Uber Air

The Remote ICT Capability Enhancement (RICE) Programme Brenton Halliday, National Manager, Zone South Australia/ National Agent & Access Point Programme


A knowledge bank for remote Australia. Dr Melodie Bat – General Manager Strategy and Innovation. Desert Knowledge Australia Department of Human Services digital products.


Department of Human Services digital products.

Karen Butler, Indigenous Service Officer, Zone Northern Australia and Kezia Tilley, A/g Programme Support Officer, Zone Northern Australia.

Please note: Broadband for the Bush Alliance is no longer active since 2019. This legacy site is being retained for historic and research purposes
This is default text for notification bar